Somaliland: High Court swears in 31 Cabinet Ministers

The High Court of the self breakaway region of Somaliland today has sworn in 31 ministers in Hargeisa, the capital.

The chairperson of the High Court Adan Haji Ali Ahmed presided over the swearing event of the new ministers who will serve under the nascent administration of Muse Bihi.

This is the second swearing event after Somaliland parliament approved 9 ministers and 2 assistant ministers on mid January in a session that was attended by 61 members.

Somaliland president Muse Bihi Abdi who ran on Kulmiye Party ticket, the party in power was declared winner of the November 13 presidential poll in Somaliland effectively extending the party’s hold on power since 2010.

He replaced Ahmed Silanyo who has been in office since 2010 whose term was to come to an end in 2015 but the polls were delayed severally.